St. John's Lutheran Church altar St. John's Lutheran Church cornerstone

About Us

Founded in 1854, St. John's Evangelical Lutheran Church, Sterling, Illinois, is home to 760 church members. We come together for worship with Holy Communion at 9:30am Sundays, and 4:30pm Wednesdays. Dress is casual, so come as you are! We are located between 7th and 8th Streets, and between 3rd and 4th Avenues. Parking is available on all sides of our building, and a ramp and elevator are available. Office hours are 8:30am-4:30pm Monday-Friday.

Our Staff

 Pastor Jacob Gawlik Rev. Jacob Gawlik, Pastor
jacob@stjohnsonthird.org

Visitation Pastor Leo Patterson Rev. Leo Patterson, On Call/ Visitation Pastor
leo@stjohnsonthird.org

Office Manager Nina Peters Nina Peters, Office Manager
nina@stjohnsonthird.org

Director of Youth & Family Ministries Gerad Von Holten Gerad Von Holten, Director of Youth & Family Ministries
gerad@stjohnsonthird.org

Minister of Music Dawn Zeigler Dawn Zeigler, Minister of Music & Bell Choir Director
dawn@stjohnsonthird.org

Praise Sunday Director Julie McCord Julie McCord, Praise Sunday Director

Systems Administrator Andrew Stutzke Andrew Stutzke, Systems Administrator
andrew@stjohnsonthird.org

Technical Director Kyle Morgan Kyle Morgan, Technical Director
kyle@stjohnsonthird.org

Newsletter Editor & Webmaster Stahr Media Janel Stahr, Stahr Media, Newsletter Editor & Webmaster
janel@stjohnsonthird.org

Custodian Diana Wolf Diana Wolf, Custodian

ELCA Missionaries to Tanzania Randall & Carol Stubbs Randall & Carol Stubbs, ELCA Missionaries to Tanzania

Purpose Statement

St. John's is a congregation of the Northern Illinois Synod of the Evangelical Lutheran Church of America. The purpose of St. John’s Evangelical Lutheran Church is to continue discovering God’s will for us in His kingdom through prayer, Bible study and building relationships.

prayer

Guiding Principles

  1. Jesus is our Lord and Savior.
  2. We make prayer, Bible study and dialog the center of our decision making.
  3. We are willing to change as we discover God’s mission for us.
  4. We invite everyone. Jesus said, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations.” ~ Matthew 28: 19a
  5. We recognize and give thanks for our blessings.
  6. We act for the discovery and fulfillment of God’s mission.



Pictorial Directory

160 Years

In 2014 we celebrated our 160th Anniversary. Click here to see a portion of our 2014 Congregational Directory, including historical information on St. John's Lutheran Church of Sterling, Illinois.